Top-Rated Speakers Bureau and Entertainment Booking Agency for Corporate Meetings and Business Events. Book an AAE Speaker Today.
Top-Rated Speakers Bureau and Entertainment Booking Agency for Corporate Meetings and Business Events. Book an AAE Speaker Today.
Click to Open Search Bar

Michael Eric Dyson

Speaker RatingSpeaker RatingSpeaker RatingSpeaker RatingSpeaker Rating
5 out of 5

MSNBC Political Analyst, Former Host of NPR's "The Michael Eric Dyson Show" & Best-Selling Author

MSNBC Political Analyst, Former Host of NPR's "The Michael Eric Dyson Show" & Best-Selling Author

Travels From Travels From:
Nashville, TN, USA
Speaking Fee Speaking Fee:
REQUEST BOOKING INFORMATION

Michael Eric Dyson Biography

Michael Eric Dyson is one of the nation’s most renowned professors, gifted writers, inspiring preachers, knowledgeable lecturers, and prominent media personalities. As a teacher who earned a PhD in Religion from Princeton University, Dyson has taught at some of the nation’s most distinguished universities, including Brown, UNC Chapel Hill, Columbia, DePaul, the University of Pennsylvania, and Georgetown University. He is presently Distinguished University Professor of African American and Diaspora Studies, College of Arts & Science, and Distinguished University Professor of Ethics and Society, The Divinity School, and Centennial Professor at Vanderbilt University. Dyson is one of America’s premier public intellectuals and author of over 20 books, including seven New York Times bestsellers, and is a political analyst for MSNBC. He has won two NAACP Image Awards and an American Book Award, and last year was awarded the Langston Hughes Medal.

Dyson has written bestselling volumes on Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, 2Pac, Marvin Gaye, Bill Cosby, and Barack Obama. Dyson’s New York Times bestselling "Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America," was called by the New York Times, ”one of the most frank and searing discussions on race…a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin’s 'The Fire Next Time' and King’s 'Why We Can’t Wait'.” The book won the 2018 Southern Book Prize. In December 2020, Dyson published the instant national bestseller "Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America," which Robin DiAngelo calls a “searing cry for racial justice from one of our nation’s greatest thinkers and most compelling prophets.” Kirkus Review says it is a “sweeping overview of racism in America” and a “timely, fervent message from an important voice,” while NPR says that “the writing is smart and the research that informs it is great, but what makes this an important book is Dyson’s voice, which is strong but always pregnant with frustration, pain, admiration and, ultimately, hope.” Dyson’s latest book is “Entertaining Race: Performing Blackness in America.”

As a preacher and sometime pastor for more than 40 years, Dyson has mounted many of the nation’s most noted pulpits to deliver sermons, including, most recently, the Washington National Cathedral where Martin Luther King, Jr., delivered his last Sunday sermon. Dyson has lectured across the country, and around the world, in many of the best colleges and universities, and in public theaters and auditoriums, and for many corporations and unions. He has also served for the last 30 years as a media commentator – and occasionally host – on every major radio and television show. Dyson has even found time to make guest appearances on scripted cable and network television programs such as Soul Food, The Game and Black-ish. While feminist author Naomi Wolf calls Dyson “the ideal public intellectual of our times,” writer Nathan McCall captures it best when he says that Dyson “is a street fighter in suit and tie.”

Michael Eric Dyson Speaking Topics

  • Race, Racism & Race Relations in America

  • Martin Luther King Jr & (African) American Leadership in the 21st Century

  • Come Hell or High Water: Hurricane Katrina & the Color of Disaster

  • Is Bill Cosby Right? Or Has the Black Middle Class Lost Its Mind?

  • Dr. King for the 21st Century

  • African American Influence on Pop Culture

Michael Eric Dyson Videos

  • Alicia Garza, Michael Eric Dyson, and Eugene Scott - Aspen Ideas Festival
    Following the deaths of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor and Ahmaud Arbery, citizens around the globe are protesting against racial suppression and...
  • Stephen A. & Dr. Michael Eric Dyson discuss Americans protesting ...
    Stephen A. Smith, Dr. Michael Eric Dyson and Max Kellerman discuss Americans protesting for change in the wake of George Floyd's death.
  • Michael Eric Dyson: Made In America | Real Time with Bill Maher ...
    Subscribe to the Real Time YouTube: http://itsh.bo/10r5A1B Georgetown professor and author Michael Eric Dyson joins Bill to discuss the ...

Michael Eric Dyson Books

  • Entertaining Race: Performing Blackness in America
    Entertaining Race: Performing Blackness in America
  • What Truth Sounds Like: Robert F. Kennedy, James Baldwin, and Our Unfinished Conversation About Race in America
    What Truth Sounds Like: Robert F. Kennedy, James Baldwin, and Our Unfinished Conversation About Race in America
  • Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America
    Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America
  • The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America
    The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America

Speaker Lists Featuring Michael Eric Dyson

FAQs on booking Michael Eric Dyson

  • How do I book Michael Eric Dyson to speak at my event?

    Our experienced booking agents have successfully helped clients around the world secure speakers like Michael Eric Dyson for speaking engagements, personal appearances, product endorsements, or corporate entertainment since 2002. Click the Check Availability button above and complete the form on this page to check availability for Michael Eric Dyson, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536 to discuss your upcoming event. One of our experienced agents will be happy to help you get speaking fee information and check availability for Michael Eric Dyson or any other speaker of your choice.
  • What are the speaker fees for Michael Eric Dyson

    Speaking fees for Michael Eric Dyson, or any other speakers and celebrities, are determined based on a number of factors and may change without notice. The estimated fees to book Michael Eric Dyson are for live events and for virtual events. For the most current speaking fee to hire Michael Eric Dyson, click the Check Availability button above and complete the form on this page, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536 to speak directly with an experienced booking agent.
  • What topics does Michael Eric Dyson speak about?

  • Where does Michael Eric Dyson travel from?

    Michael Eric Dyson generally travels from Nashville, TN, USA, but can be booked for private corporate events, personal appearances, keynote speeches, or other performances. For more details, please contact an AAE Booking agent.
  • Who is Michael Eric Dyson’s agent?

    AAE Speakers Bureau has successfully booked keynote speakers like Michael Eric Dyson for clients worldwide since 2002. As a full-service speaker booking agency, we have access to virtually any speaker or celebrity in the world. Our agents are happy and able to submit an offer to the speaker or celebrity of your choice, letting you benefit from our reputation and long-standing relationships in the industry. Please click the Check Availability button above and complete the form on this page including the details of your event, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536, and one of our agents will assist you to book Michael Eric Dyson for your next private or corporate function.
  • What is a full-service speaker booking agency?

    AAE Speakers Bureau is a full-service speaker booking agency, meaning we can completely manage the speaker’s or celebrity’s engagement with your organization from the time of booking your speaker through the event’s completion. We provide all of the services you need to host Michael Eric Dyson or any other speaker of your choice, including offer negotiation, contractual assistance, accounting and billing, and event speaker travel and logistics services. When you book a speaker with us, we manage the process of hosting a speaker for you as an extension of your team. Our goal is to give our clients peace of mind and a best-in-class service experience when booking a speaker with us.
  • Why is AAE Speakers Bureau different from other booking agencies?

    If you’re looking for the best, unbiased speaker recommendations, paired with a top-notch customer service experience, you’re in the right place. At AAE Speakers Bureau, we exclusively represent the interests of our clients - professional organizations, companies, universities, and associations. We intentionally do not represent the speakers we feature or book. That is so we can present our clients with the broadest and best performing set of speaker options in the market today, and we can make these recommendations without any obligation to promote a specific speaker over another. This is why when our agents suggest a speaker for your event, you can be assured that they are of the highest quality with a history of proven success with our other clients.

Michael Eric Dyson is a keynote speaker and industry expert who speaks on a wide range of topics such as Race, Racism & Race Relations in America, Martin Luther King Jr & (African) American Leadership in the 21st Century, Come Hell or High Water: Hurricane Katrina & the Color of Disaster, Is Bill Cosby Right? Or Has the Black Middle Class Lost Its Mind?, Dr. King for the 21st Century and African American Influence on Pop Culture. The estimated speaking fee range to book Michael Eric Dyson for your event is $20,000 - $30,000. Michael Eric Dyson generally travels from Nashville, TN, USA and can be booked for (private) corporate events, personal appearances, keynote speeches, or other performances. Similar motivational celebrity speakers are Bakari Sellers, Nikki Giovanni, Dr. Marc Lamont Hill, Ijeoma Oluo and Tamika D. Mallory. Contact All American Speakers for ratings, reviews, videos and information on scheduling Michael Eric Dyson for an upcoming live or virtual event.

Tell us about your event!

During normal business hours, we respond to most inquiries within 4 hours.

  • Customized Service

    Our agents find the right fit for your event

  • Unparalleled Database

    Full access to all speakers & celebrities

  • One Stop Shopping

    A reliable and unbiased point of contact

  • Logistics Management

    Your personal Logistics Manager who takes care of all event details

Speakers Similar to Michael Eric Dyson

related speakers Users also viewed these speakers:

This website is a resource for event professionals and strives to provide the most comprehensive catalog of thought leaders and industry experts to consider for speaking engagements. A listing or profile on this website does not imply an agency affiliation or endorsement by the talent.

All American Entertainment (AAE) exclusively represents the interests of talent buyers, and does not claim to be the agency or management for any speaker or artist on this site. AAE is a talent booking agency for paid events only. We do not handle requests for donation of time or media requests for interviews, and cannot provide celebrity contact information.

If you are the talent and wish to request a profile update or removal from our online directory, please submit a profile request form.

TOP