Top-Rated Speakers Bureau and Entertainment Booking Agency for Corporate Meetings and Business Events. Book an AAE Speaker Today.
Top-Rated Speakers Bureau and Entertainment Booking Agency for Corporate Meetings and Business Events. Book an AAE Speaker Today.
Click to Open Search Bar

Saul Williams

Spoken Word Artist

Spoken Word Artist

Travels From Travels From:
Speaking Fee Speaking Fee:
REQUEST BOOKING INFORMATION

Saul Williams Biography

To thousands of youth across America, Saul Williams has defined and redefined poetry as an accessible and living art form. Who he is and what he does vary by mod, mood and mode of expression. He does much more than write, act and perform: He is a true artist. His poetry has served as the archetype for a new generation of poets and spoken word artists. His groundbreaking work as a writer and actor in the critically acclaimed film Slam (Sundance’s Grand Jury Prize ’98; Cannes’ Camera D’Or ’98), which recently celebrated its 15 year anniversary, placed him as a figurehead of the spoken word/slam poetry movement. Now, it has spread across the United States and culminated in such commercial successes as Def Poetry Jam.

Recently the star of the first hip-hop musical in Broadway history, Holler If Ya Hear Me — a non-biographical story using Tupac Shakur’s music and lyrics — Williams is the author of the poetry collections said the shotgun to the head., She, The Seventh Octave, and his latest, Chorus: A Literary Mixtape. His book The Dead Emcee Scrolls: The Lost Teachings of Hip-Hop gives readers a tour of the history of hip-hop. In 2013, he signed a new book deal with MTV Books, in which he will write poetry about his impressions of America after four years of living abroad, in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Allen Ginsberg's "America" poems. His writings appear in several anthologies and periodicals such as Catch the Fire and The New York Times. In 2013, he starred in Alain Gomis' TEY, later becoming the first African-American to win Best Actor at FESPACO, the largest and oldest film festival in Africa. The movie also won Best Film.

His musical debut, Amethyst Rock Star, was produced by legendary rock/hip-hop producer Rick Rubin and received high praises, such as Album of the Year by The Times of London. In November 2007, Williams released his third album, The Inevitable Rise and Fall of Niggy Tardust, produced and backed up by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails. In November 2011, he released Volcanic Rock, featuring the soulful, beat-driven track “Explain My Heart,” which was featured in an Adidas commercial for Smart Soccer and more recently, in Aujourd’hui, a film by Senegalese director Alain Gomis starring Williams. The film, which follows Williams’ character during the last 24 hours of his life, premiered at the Berlin Film Festival in February 2012. Recently, he signed a deal with Fader for a new album, titled Martyr Loser King, to be released in 2015. The music from the album is the soundtrack to the musical Williams is writing, of the same name, which will premiere in New York at the same time as the album.

Williams has contributed his skills to the Not in Our Name pro-peace initiative. His draft of their Pledge of Resistance served as a manifesto for millions across the world who have sought to stop the war in Iraq and Afghanistan. Williams has also headlined the sixth annual MTN Bushfire Festival of the Arts, a three-day music, theatre, fine arts, film and multicultural event in Swaziland that gives 100 percent of its proceeds to the children of the AIDS-ravaged country.

Williams has presented his work to nearly 100 universities and colleges in the US and abroad. He has performed, toured and lectured across the world and is the nation’s youngest poet to have his writings added to the curriculum of dozens of high schools and colleges across the country. As a creative person, Williams encourages audiences to value the art of self expression. Sharing personal triumphs and tribulations, he illustrates how his heightened experience has fueled his understanding of love, compassion and humanity.

Saul Williams Speaking Topics

  • My Experience Living Abroad: A Black American Artist & Afro-Futurism

  • The Connection between Hip-Hop & Poetry

  • The Evolution of Hip-Hop

  • An Evening of Poetry

Saul Williams Videos

  • Saul Williams: "MartyrLoserKing" | Talks at Google
  • FULL INTERVIEW: Saul Williams - YouTube
  • Saul Williams: Slam Poetry Performance - YouTube

Saul Williams Books

  • The Dead Emcee Scrolls: The Lost Teachings of Hip-Hop
    The Dead Emcee Scrolls: The Lost Teachings of Hip-Hop
  • Said the Shotgun to the Head
    Said the Shotgun to the Head
  • She
    She

FAQs on booking Saul Williams

  • How do I book Saul Williams to speak at my event?

    Our experienced booking agents have successfully helped clients around the world secure speakers like Saul Williams for speaking engagements, personal appearances, product endorsements, or corporate entertainment since 2002. Click the Check Availability button above and complete the form on this page to check availability for Saul Williams, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536 to discuss your upcoming event. One of our experienced agents will be happy to help you get speaking fee information and check availability for Saul Williams or any other speaker of your choice.
  • What are the speaker fees for Saul Williams

    Speaking fees for Saul Williams, or any other speakers and celebrities, are determined based on a number of factors and may change without notice. The estimated fees to book Saul Williams are for live events and for virtual events. For the most current speaking fee to hire Saul Williams, click the Check Availability button above and complete the form on this page, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536 to speak directly with an experienced booking agent.
  • What topics does Saul Williams speak about?

    Saul Williams is a keynote speaker and industry expert whose speaking topics include Actors, Authors, Celebrity, College, Culture, Diversity, Entertainers, Entertainment, Inspirational, Journalism, Literary, Motivational, Music, News & Media, Poetry, Speakers by Industry.
  • Where does Saul Williams travel from?

    Saul Williams generally travels from an undisclosed location, but can be booked for private corporate events, personal appearances, keynote speeches, or other performances. For more details, please contact an AAE Booking agent.
  • Who is Saul Williams’s agent?

    AAE Speakers Bureau has successfully booked keynote speakers like Saul Williams for clients worldwide since 2002. As a full-service speaker booking agency, we have access to virtually any speaker or celebrity in the world. Our agents are happy and able to submit an offer to the speaker or celebrity of your choice, letting you benefit from our reputation and long-standing relationships in the industry. Please click the Check Availability button above and complete the form on this page including the details of your event, or call our office at 1.800.698.2536, and one of our agents will assist you to book Saul Williams for your next private or corporate function.
  • What is a full-service speaker booking agency?

    AAE Speakers Bureau is a full-service speaker booking agency, meaning we can completely manage the speaker’s or celebrity’s engagement with your organization from the time of booking your speaker through the event’s completion. We provide all of the services you need to host Saul Williams or any other speaker of your choice, including offer negotiation, contractual assistance, accounting and billing, and event speaker travel and logistics services. When you book a speaker with us, we manage the process of hosting a speaker for you as an extension of your team. Our goal is to give our clients peace of mind and a best-in-class service experience when booking a speaker with us.
  • Why is AAE Speakers Bureau different from other booking agencies?

    If you’re looking for the best, unbiased speaker recommendations, paired with a top-notch customer service experience, you’re in the right place. At AAE Speakers Bureau, we exclusively represent the interests of our clients - professional organizations, companies, universities, and associations. We intentionally do not represent the speakers we feature or book. That is so we can present our clients with the broadest and best performing set of speaker options in the market today, and we can make these recommendations without any obligation to promote a specific speaker over another. This is why when our agents suggest a speaker for your event, you can be assured that they are of the highest quality with a history of proven success with our other clients.

Saul Williams is a keynote speaker and industry expert who speaks on a wide range of topics such as My Experience Living Abroad: A Black American Artist & Afro-Futurism, The Connection between Hip-Hop & Poetry, The Evolution of Hip-Hop and An Evening of Poetry. The estimated speaking fee range to book Saul Williams for your event is $20,000 - $30,000. Saul Williams generally travels from and can be booked for (private) corporate events, personal appearances, keynote speeches, or other performances. Similar motivational celebrity speakers are Common, Tyrese Gibson, Kevin Powell, LL Cool J and Bruce George. Contact All American Speakers for ratings, reviews, videos and information on scheduling Saul Williams for an upcoming live or virtual event.

Tell us about your event!

During normal business hours, we respond to most inquiries within 4 hours.

  • Customized Service

    Our agents find the right fit for your event

  • Unparalleled Database

    Full access to all speakers & celebrities

  • One Stop Shopping

    A reliable and unbiased point of contact

  • Logistics Management

    Your personal Logistics Manager who takes care of all event details

Speakers Similar to Saul Williams

related speakers Users also viewed these speakers:

This website is a resource for event professionals and strives to provide the most comprehensive catalog of thought leaders and industry experts to consider for speaking engagements. A listing or profile on this website does not imply an agency affiliation or endorsement by the talent.

All American Entertainment (AAE) exclusively represents the interests of talent buyers, and does not claim to be the agency or management for any speaker or artist on this site. AAE is a talent booking agency for paid events only. We do not handle requests for donation of time or media requests for interviews, and cannot provide celebrity contact information.

If you are the talent and wish to request a profile update or removal from our online directory, please submit a profile request form.

TOP